Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Beauty & StyleFashion & Accessories · 1 decade ago

How to purchase Jade Jewelry and not get ripped off?

I will be travelling to Hong Kong for vacation and would like to purchase some Jade jewelry. If there are any Jewelers out there with advice on how to proceed, I would love to hear from them.

I am already aware of the Hong Kong Tourism "stamp of approval" so I can shop at "endorsed" dealers, but I'd still like to be an educated customer.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • lb2k
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Jade is one of the most difficult gemstones to buy if you don't know a reliable source or if you don't know your jade. And I say this despite being a collector of jade and a gemologist by profession.

Hong Kong? If you are looking or something fine, try the Emperor group of jewellers. Of course, there are other reliable jewelers (the chains usually are), but you must be prepared to pay a premium for reliability.

If you are going to local markets like the famous Jade Market, then be prepared for imitations, simulants and plenty of treated and dyed material. On the other hand, it's not expensive and it can be very enjoyable hunting for jade there. You might even find something nice for a reasonable price. (I did!!!)

Before you buy anything, you should have some idea of how to differentiate fine quality jade from commercial & utility quality jade. Here are some guidelines:

Color

Greens and Lavenders command most, followed by fancy colors like red, yellow, black etc. Look for pure and intense color. Undetones of grey or brown are not desirable.

Clarity

Color alone is not enough. Good jade must also have a good translucency and texture. Visualise a glowing glob of pure color that has a glassy or honey-like texture! It should also be free from blemishes such as clouds (white inclusions), black spots, distracting veining and host rock material.

Cut & Carat