?! asked in TravelAsia PacificKorea · 10 years ago

How can hiring be so blatantly racist?

So, I'm looking for a role in teaching English in South Korea at the moment, and even though I had been told by many that they only prefer Caucasian teachers, I decided not to listen to the crap and judge for myself. That was before I got this response:

"I am so sorry to tell you this but yes most director would like to hire Caucasian people or Korean -Australian. Some directors never mind the ethnic at all but more directors would like to hire only Caucasian. So what I want to tell you is it is not easy to us to find your and your sister's jobs here in Korea."

First of all - the English of the people teaching English isn't perfect, as you can see from the letter, secondly, um, I am a journalist in Australia (a print one at that) and I have been awarded for my written & spoken English here, so I kind of find it a little sad that this can still openly happen nowadays. Anyway, I can't be bothered trying to push my skill set in a country that is more interested in my ethnicity rather than what it should be concerned with, which by the way, is my grasp on the English language! Anyway, just to make things clear, I don't think Koreans are racist (before I get the usual haters), just that the policy is. This would have been news if it had happened in Australia, why isn't it the same in other regions?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The basic fact is this: if you are white and Western you stand a better chance of landing a job than if you are not. If you are black or Asian then you may well be discriminated against.