1. Home >
  2. Computers & Internet >
  3. Internet >
  4. MSN >
  5. Resolved Question
somebody.toldme3 somebody...
Member since:
December 22, 2008
Total points:
179 (Level 1)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

I-Got-Obsessed.com link sent in msn message. How did that happen? Why?

In an msn message, a guy sent this to me then went offline:
SEE MY PICTURES FROM LAST NIGHT LOL!!
http://[THEIR HOTMAIL USERNAME].I-Got-Obsessed.com/

I-Got-Obsessed.com/ is a phishing website. Did he send the message or did the website? Is he trying to play a joke on me or is it just the website? I'm confused.
  • 3 months ago
メランコリー by メランコリー
Member since:
July 19, 2009
Total points:
11002 (Level 6)

Best Answer - Chosen by Voters

It's the website. Don't open it.

If you have opened the link, you would notice that it has a login form.

The guy who sent you the link has entered his MSN e-mail & the password, so that the website would know it and use his account to go online and send the link to more people. Therefore, the website will be able to collect even more MSN credentials.

Got it?

Hope this helps :)
  • 3 months ago
67% 2 Votes

There are currently no comments for this question.

Other Answers (6)

  • Ciro V by Ciro V
    Member since:
    October 09, 2007
    Total points:
    127 (Level 1)
    best thing to do with Any links sent to you via msn if the user is off line is to message them back asking if they have indeed sent you the link...
    ESPECIALLY if that link contains there name... we use msn in a corporate environment and i get these questions all the time mostly from the "senders" they are more confused than the "receiver" if your account is sending out these messages change your msn/live id password it seems to stop these websites from using your account :)
    • 3 months ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Darren by Darren
    Member since:
    August 26, 2009
    Total points:
    103 (Level 1)
    Hello somebody.toldme3,

    please can you private message me as a matter of urgency! My friend was also given this address last night I am trying to establish if it was the same person who gave you the link too. Thanks!!

    Dazzy.
    • 3 months ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Do You Know I ♥ You? by Do You Know I ♥ You?
    Member since:
    February 18, 2009
    Total points:
    2382 (Level 3)
    Whatever you do, do not open that link! Here's a link that was sent to me a few days ago:

    ur pics? (some random myspace web page)

    This link was sent to me supposedly by one of my friends, and since I don't have a Myspace account I was really confused. So I clicked on the link and now my MSN freezes and sends out the same link to my contacts. I have tried uninstalling MSN twice, but it doesn't seem to work.

    So to answer you questions, your friend did not send you the link, the website did. And most of these links can lead to viruses on your MSN or worse yet on your computer. I learned that the hard way lol.

    If you keep on getting the same message, my best advice would be to change your password, and see if that helps. But as long as you don't open the link these messages are harmless.

    Hope this helps, and have a great day!

    :)

    Source(s):

    Personal Experience. :S
    • 3 months ago
    33% 1 Vote
  • Lºlª by Lºlª
    Member since:
    June 21, 2008
    Total points:
    129 (Level 1)
    It's the websit don't open it I have clicked on a link once and it gave me a virus :s

    Source(s):

    Happened to me before
    • 3 months ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • chaos by chaos
    Member since:
    May 31, 2009
    Total points:
    365 (Level 2)
    THANKYOU SO MUCH !a supposed friend sent me this too---
    http://i-got-obsessed.com/?gallery=(name here) but their actuall name was there (ive just changed it on here)...
    and they were offline so i dont get how they can send a message when there offline.I went to the site and it worked but not the link to my friend gave me .on the site i was about to enter my email and pass to join in.But after watching doctor phil on computer fraud scams i choose to research the site and its not listed under microsoft.Thanks for the warning!
    • 3 months ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • yei by yei
    Member since:
    March 02, 2008
    Total points:
    147 (Level 1)
    These people are simply awful... US leads the phishing activity followed by China*. There is a useful way to check a site's info. You go to a domain buying page and pretend to be interested in the domain i-got-obsessed.com, and then, since the site is already taken, they give some info about the domain's owner. This phishing site, already listed on FireFox phishing alerts, belongs to a Chinese 'company' located in Bejing. They use the following info**, which contains a phone number, a physichal address and an e-mail address ; )

    Domain Name : i-got-obsessed.com
    PunnyCode : i-got-obsessed.com

    Registrant:
    Organization : Nkx Vdj
    Name : Nkx Vdj
    Address : BaoChun Rd. 556, No. 91, 1F, Apt. 5219
    City : Bejing
    Province/State : Beijing
    Country : CN
    Postal Code : 100176

    Administrative Contact:
    Name : Nkx Vdj
    Organization : Nkx Vdj
    Address : BaoChun Rd. 556, No. 91, 1F, Apt. 5219
    City : Bejing
    Province/State : Beijing
    Country : CN
    Postal Code : 100176
    Phone Number : 010-010-73789036-73789036
    Fax : 86-010-73789036-73789036
    Email : n0tsp7t@126.com

    Technical Contact:
    Name : Nkx Vdj
    Organization : Nkx Vdj
    Address : BaoChun Rd. 556, No. 91, 1F, Apt. 5219
    City : Bejing
    Province/State : Beijing
    Country : CN
    Postal Code : 100176
    Phone Number : 010-010-73789036-73789036
    Fax : 86-010-73789036-73789036
    Email : n0tsp7t@126.com

    Billing Contact:
    Name : Nkx Vdj
    Organization : Nkx Vdj
    Address : BaoChun Rd. 556, No. 91, 1F, Apt. 5219
    City : Bejing
    Province/State : Beijing
    Country : CN
    Postal Code : 100176
    Phone Number : 010-010-73789036-73789036
    Fax : 86-010-73789036-73789036
    Email : n0tsp7t@126.com

    Registry Status: ok

    Sources:
    *http://www.theage.com.au/news/breaking/us-tops-list-of-phishing-hosts/2005/08/23/1124562847345.html
    **https://who.securepaynet.net/WhoIs.aspx?domain=i-got-obsessed.com&prog_id=421792
    • 3 months ago
    0% 0 Votes

Answers International

Yahoo! does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo! Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo! Answers. Send Feedback