1. Home >
  2. Business & Finance >
  3. Advertising & Marketing >
  4. Other - Advertising & Marketing >
  5. Resolved Question
ceylon ceylon
Member since:
May 05, 2006
Total points:
105 (Level 1)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

Is www.46homeworker.com. a ripoff company?

  • 1 year ago
anonymous coward by anonymous coward
Member since:
April 23, 2008
Total points:
408 (Level 2)

Best Answer - Chosen by Asker

Most likely, Yes.

First, the rule of "if its too good to be true, it probably is". Being able to stay at home, not having to work for anyone, and making money effortlessly is something that seems too good to be true, mostly because it probably is. 46homeworker.com is just of many other "work from home and make tons of money" scheme that have been both on the Internet and the television.

But, putting all that aside, there are several other reasons that raise red flags:

1. The disclaimer on their site, which reads: "There are no guarantees regarding income, and the success or failure of each participant, like any other business, depends upon each participants own skills, dedication, training, personal effort, and market conditions. The results discussed here today reflect the results of the particular participant, and are atypical and anecdotal only." Results are ATYPICAL, meaning that the people who makes lots of money are not the norm. Also, if the service was so easy and so effective, why would they need a disclaimer?

2. A graphic on their site claims that they are an Online Business Bureau trusted site. However, a search of the Online Business Bureau records for trusted companies shows no records for that particular website.

3. According to whois information from the site, the domain name is owned and controlled by LG Technologies (you probably know LG from their electronics and phone business). However, the address given is:

LG Technology
32840 Wolf Store Road
Temecula, CA 92592

However, the actual address for LG Technologies, according to their site, is:

10101 Old Grove Road
San Diego, CA 92131.

So, the addresses don't match. Something looks fishy?

4. The address listed above (32840 Wolf Store Road Temecula, CA 92592) is, according to Google Maps and Street View, an Office Max, not an office building.

5. Finally, 46homeworker.com is supposedly copyrighted to Home Business Institution. However, if you visit the copyright holders website (homebusinessinstitution.com), you finds another site with an identical offer, which is in turn is copyrighted by ReadyForWealth, yet another site offering a get rich quick scheme.


In short, a lot of things seem out of order: the offer sounds too good to be true, the scary and revealing disclaimer that says success is not typical, the false claim to be trusted by the Online Business Bureau, the false addresses, and the connection and supposed "ownership" by several other get rich quick sites.

It certainly smells like a scam to me. Or, at least a company I wouldn't want anything to do with.

Source(s):

  • 1 year ago
Asker's Rating:
5 out of 5
Asker's Comment:
WOW Thanks
This is a network marketing sheme, while not totally a scam, it is simply a business where people buy a part in it, they sell information from person to person to person to person. It's a business based upon America's stupidity.

Report Abuse

watch these commercials over time and notice a few things.
1. theres a black bar at the bottom with the address. over the years the address changes but the commercial doesn't
2. they never say the website name until the very end so they can use the commercial for multiple sites.

Report Abuse

It is not just a network marketing scheme? Let me explain what I mean, to say It is a network marketing scheme to me would mean something singular or only one network, as Aaron explained above they can, and do use these commercials for multiple sites.
Making them a network of marketing schemes!

Report Abuse

They also use these same commercials for other sites like 64gogreen.com and others. But the terms of service page or TOS is where I found something people may want to know. This is what it says, They will sell, rent, trade, and/or give all of your personal information? To third parties. Got Spam??

Report Abuse

Other Answers (1)

Answers International

Yahoo! does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo! Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo! Answers. Send Feedback