<<Did you know that your pics are all over heyset.com (or other sites)?>> That's a message which many MySpace users have gotten, supposedly from either a relative or a close friend - so far I've seen reports on YA from:
atomipad.com, azurebuzz.com, azurezoom.com, bubbleserve.com, coralpad.com, crimsonopia.com, deesphere.com, dynatoken.com, flapset.com, gabbleset .com, getemtoken.com, getemset.com, gingersphere.com, hazelpad.com, heycode.com, iconnik.com, phototradingspot.info, scrality.com, snapnik.com, tradepicsnow.com, ubzunit.com, wackset.com, wackstate.com, wareate.com
and a couple of others. When you follow the link included in the mail, you'll be led to a site which asks you for personal infos like name, mail account, passwords - you get the picture? Right, the site which supposedly has your pictures displayed, never had them, it doesn't even exist! The whole thing is just a phishing scam! And when you ask your contact, you'll find that he never send you the mail! After doing a lot of research, I found that a single guy is behind half of the addresses listed above. I suggest to forward such a message to the links below:
phishing@cc.yahoo-inc.com
http://www.spamcop.net/
Federal Trade Commission spam@uce.gov
Treasury Department 419.fcd@usss.treas.gov
http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/re… - this site contains links for various countries
Here's how to do the forwarding bit: click the crtl key and at the same time click the "forward" button to forward a message as an attachment, mac users should click the "apple" key and click "forward" simultaneously.
To read more about scams go to the links below.
http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/hughes/4337
http://www.fbi.gov/majcases/fraud/intern…
To look up possible scams, phishing mails and sites illegally trying to obtain your private data, visit: http://www.419legal.org/

Report Abuse