1. Home >
  2. Arts & Humanities >
  3. Theater & Acting >
  4. Resolved Question
Angel Angel
Member since:
March 25, 2008
Total points:
126 (Level 1)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

Is ExploreTalent.com a SCAM...it is FREE......isn't it!!? (PLEASE Reply/Thanks! ;)?

I was emailed a website, ExploreTalent.com and it says it's free unless you wish to upgrade to get more stuff...
But I read on here that it's a scam! (they said they paid money, and didn't get any acting jobs, etc) So what I am wandering is, does it have accurate information about where open call auditions are being held, etc. (because I have a free account and am receiving that information)

______________________________________…

Also I have lots of acting experience under my belt (non-paying theatres-leads-5 years), and am now persuing a career in it (so I can get paid ;), so if any of you know of any good legitimate website(s) that offer(s) info. on where auditions are being held, please let me know!

Thanks! ;)
______________________________________…

Please reply, and THANKS to whoever does reply! ;)
  • 2 years ago
Marianne D by Marianne D
Member since:
March 15, 2007
Total points:
32106 (Level 7)

Best Answer - Chosen by Voters

This one is a scam, don't bother with them. For some good indepth info on online casting go here:
http://www.bizparentz.org/uprunning/onli…

the pages on this site tend to take a bit to load, at least they do on my comp so know that going in and be patient. It's worth the wait.

good luck,
Marianne
  • 2 years ago
100% 1 Vote
If they are legit.... then u should not have to pay for anything...........they pay you!

Report Abuse

Ok so on Explore talent you can view castings with a premium membership and look at unlimited listings or you can pay $2 each for them on actors access now if you want to view more than say 20 you would be paying as much for the membership as you would for those 20 listings..does that make any sense

Report Abuse

I don't see how that is cheaper than a set monthly fee. I would rather pay $100 for unlimited than pay $2 each for 50 views....

Report Abuse

Other Answers (5)

  • nkahuntr by nkahuntr
    Member since:
    December 11, 2006
    Total points:
    1341 (Level 3)
    try and get into a more experienced talent agency that you know has been around a long time
    • 2 years ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Missy by Missy
    Member since:
    July 12, 2006
    Total points:
    2740 (Level 4)
    They're pretty rude and full of themselves there for people who should be ashamed of the way they make their money. They pay cheap, horrible scale. Yeah - they're a scam. I didn't pay for them - they still sent me with the free account. So, I would say most of the time the locations are legit. Just stay away from those leaches...
    • 2 years ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Wonderful Wayne by Wonderful Wayne
    Member since:
    February 21, 2008
    Total points:
    4978 (Level 4)
    The problem is, a lot of the auditions (95%) of the casting notice that you see on Explore Talent are available FREE else where.

    Actors Access (http://www.actorsaccess.com) is a legit service for you to submit for the casting call. It's free to register and create an online resume - but you will get charged $2.00 for each casting notice that you submit. (Compare to the monthly service charnge you get charged for Explore Talent, $2.00 is nothing)

    Please refer to the following link for more information: http://www.easybackgroundcheck.com/explo…
    • 2 years ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Lee C. by Lee C.
    Member since:
    February 18, 2008
    Total points:
    2974 (Level 4)
    Yeah.. it's pretty much a scam, because sooner or later they're going to tell you that you have to upgrade in order to keep finding the auditions....
    a lot on actors with out agents use www.actrsaccess.com like the kid above me mentioned before.

    And another thing about ExploreTalent is that you really don't know if they send your info to the right place.... the Internet is a scary place and any lunatic can find a way into the system and get your information! Plus a lot of their agency info is outdated (i checked)..... half of the agencies i looked for weren't in existence any more!!!!!

    You're better off with Actors Access or an agent!

    Good Luck!

    Source(s):

    Actress 10 Years
    • 2 years ago
    0% 0 Votes
  • Jennifer by Jennifer
    Member since:
    January 13, 2008
    Total points:
    290 (Level 2)
    its a scam. they called me and told me about a 3 day fashion show that pays 1200 a day a photoshoot for 400 an hour and that paul mitchel wants me for a hair commercial. sounds great except i have to pay to activate my account. i checked up on them and they are a big scam and the owner is a ex-convict

    Source(s):

    they called me today
    • 2 years ago
    0% 0 Votes

Answers International

Yahoo! does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo! Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo! Answers. Send Feedback